Greek yogurt is considered a dairy product in most cases. Greek yogurt is traditionally made from animal or mammal milk from cows, goats, or even buffalo. Technically, you can make yogurt from any mammal that produces milk. However, there are even “yogurts” or yogurt-like products made from soy, nut, coconut, or almond milk, which are often labeled as “dairy free”. For example, Amande and So Delicious brands are both marketed as dairy free or non-dairy products since they are produced from nuts. Essentially, the majority of the major brands on your traditional supermarket shelf are going to be animal milk (dairy) based products. A place like Whole Foods will contain a variety of dairy and non-dairy options for yogurt. Whether you are looking for a dairy yogurt or non-dairy product, it is best to read the label to confirm the ingredients.
Share the joy